Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Wheel Circumference vs Strava

I've been using a little Pro wireless computer for about five years. Last year I got a good Lezyne track pump and found that my tyres now at 110psi were bigger and therefore had a great circumference. I dutifully laid out a tape measure and tried to get an accurate measure by wheeling the bike along the hall a number of times. So my computer was set to 2135mm. This summer I started to use Strava, mainly to record my route and have a bash at segments and see how others are doing. Strava gave me my climbing figures which I though was smashing (like a jaffa cake.) But I was still using the computer for my distances.

Now last week I did the first metric for the road.cc metric Challenge. I followed my carefully planned route and got back to my front door hungry (jelly babies and gels exhausted,) tired, painful cold feet, and two punctures down; to find my computer said 100.8km and strava only 98.1km. So I went out again to go around the block and come back with figures on the computer 103.5 and Strava 100.7 Here: https://www.strava.com/activities/248656576

Satisfied I had actual done a metric I had a look online on calculating wheel circumferences as I wanted to know why there was this discrepancy. Various websites gave a calculation from 2096 for a 70x23 tyre up to 2125. So perhaps I was overestimating my distances. However I have noticed sometimes Strava zigzags all over the route and doesn't always accurately record distances.

So how do you decide your tyre size? Just go with the lowest website value just to be sure?

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

7 comments

Leviathan | 9 years ago
0 likes