Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

New bike - focus on steel

Hi guys,

I am planning to get a first road bike by end of next month and these are my following candidates:

1) Bianchi Impulso 2015 (alu)- Veloce groupset with Fulcrum 7 wheels
2) Bianchi Vigorello 2015 (Bianch steel) - 105 Groupset with Fuclrum Sport wheels
3) Genesis Equilibrium 2015 non disc versions (Reynolds 725 frame) - Veloce/Athena with Alex wheels
4) Genesis Equilibrium 2015 disc versions - Tiagra/105 with TRP Spyre/Hy-Rd
5) Condor Fratello 2015 non disc - Veloce with some potentially cheaper wheels
6) Condor Fratello 2015 disc - Tiagra with TRP Spyre and potentially cheaper wheels
7) Condor Italia RC - Veloce with Fulcrum Sport

Looking at the choices, you can see my dilemmas. First dilemma is: disc or non-disc. Now, I am relatively new to road cycling and I plan to get into it a bit more (weekend rides and potential sportives). I have no plans on racing. I do commute to work in London though and this is where it will be used most + weekend rides. I know lots of guys are suggesting disc brakes are the way to go and it will be a standard in the future, but specs with disc brakes usually bring me level down in terms of groupsets and wheels - for the budget I have. Now, it might not be a bad thing - getting more modulation and reliability in brakes when it's pouring out there, while losing slightly in weight and slightly worse groupsets.

Dilemma 2: TRP Hy-Rd approaches hydraulic Shimano set up, while TRP Spyre is mechanical. Is there much to lose going for mechanical and wait a bit for better days when hydraulic brakes become cheaper and more affordable? Second issue is maintenance...caliper brakes I'm used to and it's relatively easy to maintain. Although, truing wheels annoys me. How hard is disc brake maintenance. I heard it can be annoying (constant adjustments etc.), which is obviously gone in hydraulic setups.