Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Gearing for tackling Alp D'Huez and Ventoux

My new Ridley road bike has, unfortunately, got a Campag standard crankset on it ( 53/39 ) with 12-25 cassette. I am not a Pro so realise this might be a bit tough for climbing 8% incline for 12miles ( 5000ft in height ) - Ventoux I think ). So, I have a choice of going to 29 on the rear and hoping the rear mech is long enough. But even that is higher than my current Bianchi's set up of 50/34 and 12/27. So, should I be changing the cranks to fit a compact 50/34 as well?? Thing is, thats damn expensive, as they are Record cranks ( or Super Record , can't remember as haven't picked it up yet ). Somewhere around £275!!! Ouch.
Any of you guys recommend anything?

And don't say, different bike!!

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

14 comments

IanW1968 | 9 years ago
0 likes

I have a couple of weeks in the Alps booked for early next year, it'll be my first visit so have similar questions. Consensus amongst friends who've been before is get the lowest gear you can.

However I took my winter bike (53/39 -12/25) to Scotland recently and found a bit of time for a ride which included a 8% average 2mile climb. Really enjoyed it and rode it a few times as part of a loop, I'm 5,11 a bit winter lardy 95kg and nearly 50.

Whilst it was ok I'll still be kitting the summer bike out with 50/34 and either 11/28 or even 12/30 because riding those climbs with big gears may be ok when fresh but a bit more challenging with 100k under the belt.

Can you get an Athena or Centaur compact chainset just for the trip?

thegodplato | 9 years ago
0 likes