Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Ageing Mamil's bodies

I've noticed a lot of threads recently asking advice about rehabilitation after crashes or back problems. Both on the forum and people in the 2015 plans thread saying they just want to get back on the bike after this or that lay off.
I wonder what age some of these guys are as they don't often say. I admit I am 38, but hope I am a young 38. I have been riding as an adult since 1996 various mountain bikes, I bought my first road kit in 1999 and have been slowly building up especially since 2008 and giving up some of my other more extreme sports. I therefore was surprised to find myself in the Mamil category as I though it was meant as a dig at people getting into biking later in life - the new golf, as they say. I though I might be exempt as it is not so long ago that I was actually young, no-one said when I was buying lycra shorts ten years ago that I would only have a small window of opportunity to wear them without being branded some kind of aging wannabe.

So at what age are some of the newbies here getting into bikes? If you crash are you concerned about breaking a hip or just grazing your gluteus maximus (my fat arse has hit the deck a few times on the ice and I never though it was a vulnerable point compared to wrists or shoulders - both broken before.) Do I have all this to worry about in the future or if I just plough on I should stay robust whilst less active contemporaries go downhill (figuratively.)