Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Mudguard problems - any ideas?

I've been running SKS Commuter mudguards for the past 2 months but in that time the rear mudguard has literally snapped clean in half in three places and the front mudguard has snapped clean in half in one place.

On the rear mudguard, the rivets on the rear section have also come away from the actual mudguard so the mudguard is flapping loose (only held on thanks to the gaffa tape I used to fixed the earlier breaks)

I'm guessing one of the following three things;

- (a) SKS Commuter mudguards are actually made of cheese and are useless
- (b) The roads where I live are so rough that any mudguard will break
- (c) I've mounted them wrong and this has caused the repeated failures

Anyone got any ideas?

p.s. Bike has full mudguard mountings and plenty of clearance.

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

13 comments

Tintow | 9 years ago
0 likes

Fitted the Tortec Reflectors today - I've just discovered what happened to the guy that used to create the Krypton Factor puzzles - he went on to develop mudguard fittings  20

Seriously tricky to fo fit but look really good once fitted. They feel really sturdy and don't seem to rattle as much as the SKS ones

Going out tomorrow and hoping for less rattle and no breakage!

Tintow | 9 years ago
0 likes

Thanks for all the advice - my new Tortec Reflectors arrived today so I'll fit them tomorrow and let you know how I get on !

Nick0 | 9 years ago
0 likes

Riveted guards will eventually fall apart. These are almost indestructible -

http://www.sjscycles.co.uk/m:part-primoplastic-mudguard-set-700c-prod35071/

I had a black cab rear end me at walking speed the other week, rear wheel buckled, mudguard popped out of it's quick release stays, put them back in and completely undamaged!

Scoob_84 | 9 years ago
0 likes