Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Indexing issue

This is driving me berserk. On my spangly new Park stand the gears are perfect and shift seamlessly (one year old Forme Ax Edge Pro with Ultegra 10 sp cassette). Mount up and pedal away and I miss changes up and down - not always on the same shift - and only 1:20 probably go awry. What might be wrong?

I'm new to bikes (after 30 years away) but have been known to strip and rebuild an engine with impunity so not a complete novice.

MT

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

36 comments

allanj | 9 years ago
0 likes

Even better!

Mother Theresa | 9 years ago
0 likes

Actually it never worked properly so with this and a proper bike fit applied to it it is a new machine to me. Hurrah!  36

0 likes

Just to complete this I have finally got round to changing the cable and it is almost perfect so thanks to all who commented.

MT

allanj replied to Mother Theresa | 9 years ago
0 likes

Glad to hear it, so nice to have it all working again, isn't it.

SilverMerlin | 9 years ago
0 likes

To the OP are you easing off pedaling when you change gear. This can make a big difference.

I am new to road biking myself and had a similar problem with my bike on the front mech - the gears would change effortlessly on the bike stand but would be flaky out on the road. If you are happy that your derailleurs are set up correctly and the cable is sufficiently tight then It could be your technique rather than equipment is worth a try.

DaveE128 | 9 years ago
0 likes

I suspect the problem is the cable, and in my experience it's most likely to be in the loop that runs round to the rear mech, (as it has the sharpest bends and is subjected to a lot of muck) but I'd change the whole lot if you can be bothered.