Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Which Groupset?

So I am building my first ever bike. I have a steel 853 frame on order and I plan to build it with a 'classic' style. I had originally planned on using a 105 groupset but having seen the Campagnolo Athena it just has the perfect look to go with he bike. However I am not at all familiar with Campag and on having a quick browse on the internet it seems there could be issues with compatibility with other components and special tools required for installation and maintenance. Can anyone out there give me the benefit of their experience?

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

16 comments

PhilJC | 9 years ago
0 likes

I've been running Veloce for 8 years or so on my steel Condor Fratello. The bike has commuted through summer and winter as well as the odd circuit race etc. Still running original shifters, replaced front mech once and now on third rear mech. Still works fine. Cables replaced as and when needed. Indexing still spot on - good kit! Wheels are Record hubs (old style with grease ports) hand built by Paul Hewitt. Not missed a beat in 8 years - freehub body still clicking away nicely!

Flying Scot | 9 years ago
0 likes

Can't you retrofit the metal ratchet and pawls from the older/ dearer ones?

shimano don't sell any of the parts, Campag at least allow you to rebuild them.

Pub bike replied to Flying Scot | 9 years ago
0 likes
Flying Scot wrote:

Can't you retrofit the metal ratchet and pawls from the older/ dearer ones?

The pawl is part of the shifter body and can’t be replaced on its own. It wears out at roughly the same rate as the ratchet. If the ratchet were metal it would wear the pawl out faster. It might be possible to sub in some metal parts however but I’ve not attempted it. I’d rather just have a standard stock part that is reliable.