Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

forum

New laptop - call in the techies!

Ok, so I'm looking at a new machine, but can't quite decide how I think the market is looking. Since I don't currently hang around any tech forums, I thought I'd ask you people and see what gets suggested.

Basically, when I refer to 'how the market is looking', I'm wondering whether the old habit of buying the thing with the fastest processor/biggest screen etc that you can afford is still valid, or whether the shift toward mobile devices and cloud services negates that. Anyone think I should be looking at a different direction, like a big tablet with a detachable keyboard? A chromebook-type device? Or are 'proper' laptops with grunt still the way forward? I have a 10GB data limit on my phone which I can use as a hotspot, so a thinner client with heavy use of cloud services is a possibility, if you assume that the connection will always be there.

I'm a freelance IT consultant, and intend to shift part of my skills/business focus towards cloud services and architecture of things like Amazon Web Services, but to avoid needing an EXTRA device for all my other requirements, I suppose I need to add things like itunes, backup of my phone, sufficient storage for a bunch of sufferfest videos and likely a couple of virtual machines or whatever, plus things like a decent number of outputs for external keyboard/mouse, HD display, etc. This is in addition to the obvious stuff like office productivity software etc.