Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Cadence newbie question

Hi Im new to all this cycling stuff.
Got a road bike in Aug now I just got a Garmin with Cadence & heart rate.
My questionis what should my cadence be ?

Thanks
Matt..

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

11 comments

iwantmorecash | 9 years ago
0 likes

Thanks for all the replys
My Cadence has been hovering around to 75 mark so I will work on increasing it slightly.

Thanks again

Matt

Jif | 9 years ago
0 likes

General advice tends to be to try and keep your cadence above 80, too low puts the strain on your muscles and joints and too high wastes energy. I find around 90 works for me and allows me to keep going for longer.

It did take a few rides to get used to 90 as upping your cadence does work your cardiovascular system more. Experiment with a few different pedalling speeds and see which one suits you.

notfastenough replied to Jif | 9 years ago
0 likes
Jif wrote:

General advice tends to be to try and keep your cadence above 80, too low puts the strain on your muscles and joints and too high wastes energy. I find around 90 works for me and allows me to keep going for longer.

It did take a few rides to get used to 90 as upping your cadence does work your cardiovascular system more. Experiment with a few different pedalling speeds and see which one suits you.

I think the other aspect is that the cardiovascular system tends to recover more quickly than the legs. My legs feel shredded after a hard ride, suspect I could use a slightly higher cadence myself.

CXR94Di2 | 9 years ago
0 likes