Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Failure of Campagnolo Centaur Powershift ergo

About 6 weeks ago, I was out for a ride, and just nearing home I got out of the saddle to get up a rise. Just as i did the right hand hand ergo lever body seemed to fail, then twisted and sent me over the bar. In the resulting fall I nearly lost my little finger and dislocated my wrist. Not great, especially given I'm a self-employed furniture maker.

I have been using Campag ergos for the last 10 years without a single problem, prior to this. In the early years I never bothered with a torque wrench, but over the last few years since i started riding carbon bars I have used one. In this case I had used a calibrated Norbar wrench to install the ergos and tightened them to the specced 10 Nm.

The ergos were nearly new and have never crashed or bashed. I just wondered if anyone had heard of or experienced a similar failure?

Thanks

Rich

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

9 comments

catchweasel | 9 years ago
0 likes

Thanks for the information. I had checked before that the Easton EC90 Aero bar was compatible and having looked again at Easton's site I can't find the radius of the bar but it states clearly that it is compatible with Campagnolo shifters.

As to the installation of the levers, these were midway round the curved part of the bar, which looks to be in line with Campag instructions.

As I mentioned before I have been a very happy Campag user for many years, but after this experience I'll be very wary of the new shaped levers. I might be overreacting but you didn't have to look at your own little finger hanging off.

therevokid | 9 years ago
0 likes

I've seen a chorus ultrashift do exactly the same and was down to the shape
Of the bars as velotech graeme points out.

velotech_cycling | 9 years ago
0 likes

Hi Mike