Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Btwin Triban 500 vs Felt Z100 need to choose, please advise?

Right then girls and guys. I am a complete newbie to the world of road bikes but am getting commissions through at the end of October and as well as a flat screen tv and a new set of golf clubs I really want to buy a road bike.

I am looking to buy a bike for less than £400 as I don't want to waste a load of money if its not something i stick to but am determined to make it happen and see this as an ideal time to pick up a bargain.

I will be mainly be using this bike for commutes to friends houses around 5 miles away as well as riding for an hour after work 3 times a week. As i get more confident and into the sport and the weather gets nicer (around april/may time) i will start riding out on a Saturday and Sunday for longer distances.

I am 6" 5 so am guessing i need either a 60cm, 61cm or 63cm frame advice on this would be helpful?

I think i have narrowed it down to two contenders:

Btwin Triban 500 SE - £350
http://www.decathlon.co.uk/triban-500-se-road-bike-black-id_8306187.html

Felt Z100 2014 - £385
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/felt-z100-2014/

I don't want to seem like a bike snob but I really like the look and the brand of the felts and the triban 5oo se seems a bit plane Jane however i have read endless good reviews for the btwin bike. Also i have read that Z series from felt is a designed to be a little bit more comfortable than some race bikes which could be an advantage as the last bike i owned was when i was 15 and i am now 27.

Any feedback you guys could give me would be hugely appreciated as I very indecisive on the matter.
Or if you know of any other great deals under £400 i would love to see them. I keep scanning ebay for a second hand gem at a cheap price but finding a 61cm frame is difficult.

There are a couple of other contenders but i am starting to rule them out:

Felt F95 2014 - £365 (Boxed)