Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Decisions for my new F8

I am in the fortunate position of having a new F8 on order which I am hoping will be a bit of an improvement on the Caad 8 that I have been riding for the past three years.

The bike will be coming with SR EPS and at the minute I have opted for a set of Campy Bora Ultra 2's which I think will finish the setup off nicely, but... this would be my first tub set and im not sure if I want to go down the tub route for obvious reasons. majority of my rides are 40-60 mile club rides in the peak district but am planning on stepping up a gear next year with some 100 sportives.

I still have options on the wheelset - as I am getting a pretty top notch deal (like a 35% disc on the whole package but this is a one time opportunity) I am thinking why not get the ultra 2's at a good price, 1) they are a top notch set of wheels and 2) they look fricking awesome (especially with the matt 950 colour scheme and groupset) and then maybe get a set of mid range clinchers probs some shamals or similar. But then I am also thinking why spend a lot of money on a set of wheels that I wont be confident enough to ride on a big one and may end up sat in the garage for a majority of the time. I could just get the shamals and save a bit of cash and get some major Kudos with the wife when I give her some change to go shopping with.

I have read endless opinions on tubs vs clinchers and seem to be changing my mind after every thread read. I could carry a spare tub with me which I know other riders at the club do but at the back of my mind I think why have a 2k set of wheels that you wouldnt feel confident in riding when performance is most important to you i.e. a 100 mile sportive event or maybe eventually a road race.

Other wheel options to Campy are limited to Corima or Shimano.

Look forward to hearing a few opinions