Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Descent Fear

Hey all. It's my first time on the forum so be kind!

I have an embarrassing problem. No, not that one - that's cleared up now. The problem is that I'm terrible on downhill stretches. If I'm out with a group, there's a good chance that they're going to be at the bottom of the hill well before I am, because I'm teetering down with my grip firmly on the brakes. It never used to be a problem when I was a kid, bombing down the steepest of slopes. Now I'm creeping up for 40 it's become a real issue.

A particularly white knuckle descent down Sundridge Hill in Kent the other day made me think it's something that I really need to improve on. I think part of the problem is that I don't have enough faith in modern day brakes to bring me to a stop if I started losing control or if something ran out in front of me - but I'm also conscious that I need to improve my technique and confidence. What advice would you all offer to someone with such an affliction?

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

26 comments

Martyn_K | 9 years ago
0 likes

If you want to get up hills quicker or easier, practice is required.

It's the same with decending, practice, practice, practice.

It is important though to recognise the limitations of both your bike and yourself. Its no good trying to throw your machine down hills or round corners that it will not be able to cope with. Even the best rider in the world would struggle.

Identifying and training up your own limitations is key. I have seen a few moments on roads where cyclists talent curve ended and they have carried on in blind faith. It always ends in disaster.