Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

help choosing first road bike

hi all sorry if this is a bit long but i'm a total novice when comes to cycling so would be very gratefull if all you good people could give me some advice, i'm looking at getting a road bike to commute to work. I have a budget of around £1000 could stretch to £1300. But ideal would like find something in sale so get more for my money.
I saw this deal on merlin cycles for a beone full carbon bike with Shimano 105 groupset for £879.94 with delivery the link is below

http://www.merlincycles.com/beone-diablo-race-road-bike-63023.html

Has any one got a beone bike or come across them before and if so what are they like as I have never heard of the make and Is this a good deal, it seems it to me with 47% off rrp or is the rrp too high in first place? I have been told in this price bracket I would be better of looking at a good high end alloy frame as all carbon ones will be low end carbon and a good alloy frame would be better quality is this true? I always thought carbon was better even if was at lower end but as said im complete novice so any advice on this be great.

Also what is best time to buy a bike to get best deal, i have been told it would be better to wait till September as all 2015 bikes will be out then so all 2014 models will be in sale so be better deals around then is this true? or are there just as good deals round now. lastly If anyone knows of any better deals around price range for good reliable bike love to hear all your recommendations. thank you all for listen and if you could help with advice that be great and much appreciated cheers

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

6 comments

markstokeshughes80 | 9 years ago
0 likes