Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Am I over-analysing this?

First of all, hello everyone - I'm a fresh-faced newbie around here  1

And secondly, apologies for starting with yet another "I want a new bike" thread!

I've ridden bikes all my life, but all my competition has been in other areas - running, volleyball, football, tennis etc. but now I'm old, fat and injured, cycling is the one thing I have left.
I currently ride a 2010 Trek Pilot 2.0, which I enjoy (and which took me coast to coast on the way of the roses a couple of years ago), as well as a 2013 Trek X-Caliber MTB (it's a coincidence - I'm not a Trek-fanatic!).

Now I've decided to buy myself a present for my 50th birthday coming up, and that means a proper carbon Ultegra-equipped endurance bike. Fun to go fast, eager to climb, but soft on my aging and often aching body.

I've read almost everything there is, and have it down to:

Trek (yes, them again) Domane 4.7
Scott Solace 20
Giant Defy Advanced 1

On the verges perhaps a Cannondale Synapse, Specialized Roubaix... and I'd love to try a Volagi Liscio but the dealer seems unwilling to reply to my emails so I won't bother - I'm not shelling out this sort of cash without the promise of some serious customer care!!

A friend suggested a 2013 Felt Z3 (with lovely Di2 gears!!) at a knock-down price... but I can't test-ride it so I'm not sure about that.

Well I'm looking for comfort without compromising speed, light weight (though I suspect at 15 stone I'm wasting my time looking for lightweight bike?), decent wheels...

I'm heading off to the LBS at the weekend to try as many as I can find (and perhaps a Madone to compare with the less "endurance" types)...

The rational part of my mind suggests that in the £2000-£2500 endurance space, whatever I get will be fantastic and I should forget the reviews, spec. sheets etc., but I just can't stop myself!