Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

rider weight

Hi guys just after some advice.im 34, 5 foot 11 and weigh just under 13 stone.is this a good weight? If I was a pro cyclist id describe myself as a puncheur(guys like phil gilbert)

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

30 comments

El Tel | 9 years ago
0 likes

I'm just short of 15 stone, 5'10''
Bloody hard work going up the hills......but 47mph last week coming down....always a silver lining  4

PurpleDog replied to El Tel | 9 years ago
0 likes
El Tel wrote:

I'm just short of 15 stone, 5'10''
Bloody hard work going up the hills......but 47mph last week coming down....always a silver lining  4

Just over 15 stone myself, and not long ago hit 51.6mph on a downhill, another guy did 50.9... the skinny climber among us couldn't get past 46mph!! Ha ha - more pies for success  4

paulrbarnard | 9 years ago
0 likes

Interesting article. I'm 2.2222222222222 and funnily enough my wife is constantly going on at me to put some more weight on.

My challenge is on the power side of the equation. I'm an old git with spaghetti for legs...

CXR94Di2 | 9 years ago
0 likes

Power to weight is the important figure. If I could drop 7lbs and keep the same power all the better. Taller cyclists will generally weigh more than smaller, so to be competitive whilst tall you need to be stick thin - as long as they can put out the same or more power than a smaller rider.

PurpleDog | 9 years ago
0 likes

Surely there's a flaw in equating height (in one dimension) with weight (three dimensions)?

If you took, say, Froome and shrunk him by, say, 5%, his weight would drop by around 14% as you'd be reducing height, width and depth (front to back) and he would have 14% less volume to weigh.