Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Is it worth a wheel upgrade?

I have been riding for a couple of years now and when i bought my first road bike I got quite a nice one so that I wouldn't have to upgrade too soon.

I have a carbon framed bike, with decent kit. It has fairly light wheels (DT swiss hubs), that are 1775g for the pair. I use Conti tyres.

I mainly ride on my own for fitness, but occasionally with friends and have done a couple of 100 mile charity rides. I average about 35-40 miles when I go out once per week and average about 15 mph. I find hill climbing hard, but am getting better and live in a very hilly area.

I understand that My wheels are good but at the bottom end of Giants decent wheel range.

Was thinking of I upgrading my wheels to something lighter, maybe 1350-1400g.

I am also unsure about the benefits of aero wheels, most of which don't seem any lighter than what I have.

If I was to buy some nice light wheels, will I notice any difference.

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

35 comments

Joeinpoole | 9 years ago
0 likes

Strewth! We are *sensitive* aren't we? I enjoyed reading this thread, so thanks for starting it, but I also particularly enjoyed Simon E's observations which I thought were spot-on.

Sensible | 9 years ago
0 likes

Thanks to those that gave genuinely helpful comment and opinion, but I have now unsubscribed from this thread.

Sensible | 9 years ago
0 likes

BrokenBootneck | 9 years ago
0 likes