Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Planetx RT-58 alloy tiagra 2014, Canondale CAAD 9 2009, or Genesis Equilibrium 00 2014??

Hi,
I am considering £600 for the Planet X RT-58 alloy or £600 for the Genesis Equilibrium 00 - both new. There is also, for £500 a Canondale CAAD tiagra 2009 for £500 second hand (although, little used).
Can you give me any advice.
I am new to road riding and am looking for best value for money of the 3 options in case I end up selling. On a positive note, I also want the best future-proofed bike in case I wish to upgrade components. I imagine the "winning" bike would meet both these criteria.
The plan is to ride longish distances/sportives, and for fitness, but, as I am retired, there will be no commuting!
The specs look similar apart from the steel frame on the Genesis
I am only considering the canondale because the frame had such great reviews back then, but I don't know how much alloy technology has developed since then.
it would be great to hear some advice.
magslmac

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

22 comments

T1berious | 9 years ago
0 likes

Go train and do the 100! I'm doing a 50m will with my father in law in a few weeks and he's 73!!

I can only hope I'm that fit when I hit 70+  1

magslmac replied to T1berious | 9 years ago
0 likes

That seals it. I'm on. Shame is the best motivator! Best of luck to you both.

Roberj4 replied to magslmac | 9 years ago
0 likes

Hi magslmac pleased you got your order away. I wonder (being new to cycling) can the shop offer you a proper bike fit to get you 'on the road' correctly before you pick up the bike?