Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Mech Hangers on a £500 road bike

looking for advice and help on a road bike I purchased only 8 months ago!

I purchased my bike only 8 months ago. It is a battaglin s11 sora from wiggle.co.uk. the mech hanger has gone already, resulting in my chain and derailer snapping. Is this normal on a bike that has only been used for approx. 250 miles and serviced after 2 months?

I have complained to wiggle who have said the mech hanger is an expandable part which is not covered in my warranty. Therefore they are not willing to help. Im new to road bikes but having owned bikes since leaving school I have never known this to happen.

I have been back and forth with emails but seem to be getting no where. should I just leave it or do I have reason to follow my complaint through?

Id really appreciate any thoughts from anyone that knows anything about road bikes, thank you.

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

6 comments

Derny | 9 years ago
0 likes

Usually the failure of a derailleur tab is the victim of what went wrong, not the cause. Often the cause is jamming the chain between the cassette and the frame or spokes, or breaking the derailleur, or a foreign object becoming caught in the drivetrain. If you have a replaceable derailleur tab, then you thank your lucky stars and buy a replacement. If your frame is toast then you may want to spend more effort trying to get help from the merchant. When I worked in bike shops, if I sold someone a bike and they had a hard-luck story like that, I would usually try to fix it regardless of what happened.

farrell | 9 years ago
0 likes

Last month I went through two rear mechs in the space of a week on two different bikes. No crashes involved, just pure bad luck.

MKultra | 9 years ago
0 likes