Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Improving pedaling technique

Folks,

I've been riding without cleats for many years; but made the switch across to SPDs on my mountain bike a couple of years ago - the 8 months I've had my road bike I've always been riding with SPD-SL cleats.

As I was so long without cleats, I've a pedaling technique that is almost entirely based on the pushing motion from whichever foot is in front, I have to consciously concentrate on trying to pull up at the same time with the opposite foot - something which I only manage in short bursts when I really think about it.

If I'm honest, the only time I really pull noticeably on the pedals is when my legs need a break when climbing and I don't want to get out of the saddle.

I'm fairly sure my technique is rubbish (though it seems to work ok for me), how did you teach yourself to pull as well as push on the pedals - knowing my muscle memory I'm not sure it will ever become a natural thing for me.

What is the power ratio from pushing to pulling? If it's meant to be something like 80-20 then I'm probably not too far off, if it is meant to be 50-50 then I've a long way to go.

Any help appreciated.

Cheers,

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

9 comments

fukawitribe | 9 years ago
0 likes

Some excellent suggestions here - one-legged pedalling is particularly good at showing you where in the cycle you might want to apply pressure, and a great exercise in itself.

As far as the 'pull-up' is concerned - I wouldn't quite think of it on quite those terms. The usual advice i've seen is along the lines of

* coming up to the top of the stroke, try and kick/push your foot forward in your shoe over the top to accelerate it over the top
* push down (much as you already do) from roughly 2 o'clock to 5 o'clock-ish