Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Right Foot pain

Hi
I'm pretty new to road biking, after c.10 miles I get a aching pain in my right foot - is this to do with my cleat position & or seat position or is this normal and I my foot will become use to being in that position. 99% of the time I unclip my left foot (like most I assume) is this the reason why my left doesn't ache and only my right?

Any help would be greatly received

Chars

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

7 comments

Buggers85 | 9 years ago
0 likes

Thanks for the advice

Think I will try loosening my shoe a little first and an insert in my shoe. If this doesn't solve it I will have a bike fitting - don't think this can hurt!!

notfastenough | 9 years ago
0 likes

Remove your socks and sit on a high surface (kitchen worktop should do it). Dangle your feet naturally, just relax your legs and let your feet drop. Viewed from the front (get someone to take a picture of your feet if necessary), what does your stance look like? Personally, the outside of my feet are quite a bit lower than the inside. Viewed from the front, this would give my feet an inverted V shape. This means that when I do anything more than gentle spinning, my foot collapses inwards with the downward force. I use Specialized Body Geometry footbeds and cleat wedges to correct this, and they work well and allow me to crank up the power.

There are many variables at work here though, for example my feet don't sit parallel, so I pedal with my heels turned inwards. You could do with a bike fitting, as suggested above. Whereabouts are you? Someone might be able to suggest one.

BradleyNiggins | 9 years ago
0 likes

I had a very similar issue.

Pain on the outside of the right foot.

It's most likely your insoles and how tight you have the shoes.