Home

Looking to get a towards the upper end of the price range carbon frame/bike as a summer weekend mile muncher.

One thing I'm having trouble quantifying is how long should you expect a cared for carbon frame to last.
Thanks

42 comments

Flying Scot [918 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

Firstly, I'm not a composite engineer, but a friend who is a former pro ( not a very good one) runs carbon frames for 2 summers, then relegates them to 3 winters, then sells them.

That's his take on it.

I also heard, though it may be here say, that the pro teams race bikes get used for 6 months tops, then get made the spares for 6 months, then go to the junior team for a year, then get handed to feeder riders for training and don't get raced again.

I think there is good evidence that the stiffness isn't everlasting, but I also know guys on 10 year old stuff that hasn't fell apart from beneath them.

I do recall Ferrari being very careful about painting carbon and not exposing the weave until about 5 years ago, they were worried about UV.

My main bike was made of air hardening cro-mo ....61 years ago. Needs painted every 12 years or so though.

Welsh boy [293 posts] 2 years ago
0 likes

So, lets summarise Flying Scot's reply: If you are a top pro riding the sponsors latest advert, 6 months/1 season of hammering over cobbles and poor road surfaces then replace it with their latest "must have" model. Frame then handed down to a junior team to get hammered/crashed then handed down again to a feeder team. Manufacturers seem happy with this and confident that something with their name on will take this level of abuse. No life issues there then. A former pro uses his for 2 summers and 3 winters (5 years in total) then he is still confident enough to sell it on for someone else to use and buy another carbon frame. So no life issues there either.