Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Bike building

Hi,

I have always wanted to build myself a bike but as a complete novice would be glad of any advice, including 'how to' manuals. With a budget of £3000 what frame would you recommend as a starting point. Many thanks in advance

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

18 comments

lisseman | 9 years ago
0 likes

Thank you for your tips

hennahairgel | 9 years ago
0 likes

A bike stand to hold the frame off the floor as you bolt on the shiny bits.

If you do the usual maintenance on a bike, building it from scratch itsn't that much more, especially as headsets just drop in and BB are a bit more straight-forward.

I built my bike about a year ago and the hardest part was cutting the steerer tube, due to fear. An old headset taped in place as a cutting guide helped. Don't cut the steerer as short as needed immediately but instead run some spacer above the stem so you can change the height. After a few rides, when it's all dialed in you can cut off the excess. Oh, and sizing the chain length can be harder as you don's simply match the old one.

An once you've built it, no one else will have one exactly the same, and you can mend any part of it.

£3K is a healthy budget to have.

allez neg | 9 years ago
0 likes

I've always used copaslip on my bikes and motorcycle, a habit inherited from my home - mechanic and engineer father, who used motorcycles on his daily commute in all weathers. I used the Finish Line equivalent in my time at the bike shop too.

I'd say a light coat of it on all metal on metal threads and mating surfaces (fnarr) is the way to go - it seemed to cure creaky handlebars and square taper cranks perfectly.

If you have left over, you can smear it on the steps of the local police station too.

MKultra | 9 years ago
0 likes