Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Advice on what price to sell a bike for

Hi. First time posting so please be gentle.

I'm selling a bike in order to buy a new one. No advice needed for the new bike, thanks - I've already decided what to get.

However, I am new to the business of selling. I have a 3 year old Giant Defy 3.5. I plan to sell on eBay (other options welcome, including whether such a bike would be attractive to the road.cc classifieds audience), which is another first for me, as I haven't sold through that market before.

Where I need help issue setting a price. I don't want to be left with a spare bike, or give it away for too little. The current equivalent is the Defy 3, RRP is £600 but last year models seem to be available on the internet for £500. Mine is in good mechanical order, with a few paint chips here and there. I would chuck in the Giant designed mudguards worth £25 as well.

There's currently an exactly similar one on eBay for £400. That seems wildly optimistic to me. Do you think I could get away with asking for £300 or go lower for a quicker sale?

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

15 comments

Neil753 | 10 years ago
0 likes

@DaveE128
Re; what time is best for selling on Ebay.

Best time for an auction to finish, at least for bikes aimed at guys, is when "corrie" is on  3

joemmo replied to Neil753 | 10 years ago
0 likes
Neil753 wrote:

@DaveE128
Re; what time is best for selling on Ebay.

Best time for an auction to finish, at least for bikes aimed at guys, is when "corrie" is on  3

IME Sunday night is best, between about 9 and 10pm. Most people are in, kids are in bed, bugger all on telly.

Stumps | 10 years ago
0 likes

I've bought and sold on ebay for years now and thats included 5 bikes of varying conditions and to be honest once you have the back up of paypal its easy to sell.