Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

What jacket? Help please...

Hi,
I'm after a bit of wisdom from more seasoned cyclists than myself.

I'm new to cycling and ride 8.5 miles each way commuting to and from work. I've been doing it for about 8 weeks now.

I didn't have (and still don't really) endless amounts of money when setting up, and pretty much just got a bike and got going.

I'm not particularly feeling the cold yet (I think I 'run hot') but am mindful that clothing-wise I'm really not equipped for the winter months. I'm currently in an Endura base layer and generic (ie non cycling specific) North Face thin top. As if 14th December I'm still in shorts (I mention that only by way of context in terms of my body temperature!)

I'm looking for some clothing/combination of clothing that will serve me well in the colder times. I've been looking at some of the Gore jackets, and until then I would not have considered myself stupid, nor as unable to make a decision. But the more I read the less certain I am of anything!

I'd live to hear peoples' thoughts on jackets for autumn/winter. I was initially thinking waterproof, but given the weather, a windproof may be better. Whichever product I view, I can read enough good reviews to get me thinking I could have found the ideal jacket, but it's all undone by a couple of negative reviews.

Currently 'researched out' and with less idea than when I began! Please help!!

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

15 comments

Chuck | 10 years ago
0 likes

Personally I'd try and avoid anything totally waterproof with a membrane if you're going to be doing a decent workrate. Even the best (and Event is the best I've used by a long way, haven't tried the new generation of Gore fabrics though) will get you hot.